Sharing is caring!

Brisbane Warmth registered a 15-run victory over Sydney Sixers of their Huge Bash League match on Sunday. Opted to bat first, Brisbane posted a complete of 224/5 in 20 overs with Nathan McSweeney smashing 84 runs. In return, Sydney have been bowled out at 209 as Michael Neser acquired a three-wicket haul. Aside from him, Mark Steketee, Matthew Kuhnemann, and Ross Whiteley scalped two wickets every. Nevertheless, a really unlucky incident passed off in the course of the match that raised many questions over the legal guidelines of the gents’s sport.

Within the nineteenth over of Sydney’s innings, Jordan Silk performed a giant shot to the long-off on the supply of Steketee. Neser made a superb effort to seize the ball and threw it earlier than going over the boundary line. Nevertheless, the ball was nonetheless outdoors the boundary rope and Neser jumped once more and threw the ball again to the taking part in space this time earlier than speeding contained in the rope and taking the catch.

After a little bit of confusion, the umpire gave the choice within the favor of Neser and Silk was declared out at 41. Nevertheless, the umpire’s name didn’t go down effectively with the followers because it sparked a debate over the legal guidelines of cricket.

“I would be telling everybody of my fielders to face behind the boundary line and simply bounce whenever you catch it,” commented a fan.

“So Neser might stand there for 10 minutes leaping off the bottom throwing the ball within the air! What a ridiculous interpretation of the rule!!,” commented one other fan.

“Out or not out. Guidelines must be modified, Neser has used the bottom outdoors the boundary to his benefit. Leaping / taking off outdoors the boundary needs to be unlawful and deemed as a six. Fielders cannot be utilizing something different then the taking part in subject. This is not “nice fielding”,” commented a fan.

Rule 19.4.2 below the MCC Legal guidelines of Cricket states, “The ball in play is to be thought to be being grounded past the boundary if a fielder, grounded past the boundary as in 19.5, touches the ball; a fielder, after catching the ball throughout the boundary, turns into grounded past the boundary whereas in touch with the ball, earlier than finishing the catch.”

Featured Video Of The Day

Sachin Tendulkar, Spouse Anjali Noticed At Akina

Matters talked about on this article

Source link


Leave a Comment